African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards(USD100,000 Fund) 2017

Application Deadline: 31st October, 2016. For the National awards kindly contact National Academy of Science or National Research Councils.

Award Name: African Union Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Continental and Regional Awards 2017

Offered annually? Yes

Brief description: African Union Commission offers Kwame Nkrumah Scientific Awards for African scientists from African Union AU Member States in disciplinary fields that include agricultural sciences, environmental sciences, and energy innovation (among others).

Eligible Fields of Research: Prizes are awarded to top African scientists in each of the following two sectors (a) Life and Earth Science; and (b) Basic Science, Technology and Innovation.

About Award: The African Union Commission launched the prestigious African Union Scientific Award Programme on 9 September 2008 with the support of its Development Partners particularly the European Commission. Under this programme prizes are awarded to top African scientists. The program seeks to recognize outstanding science at the continental level, for which it awards a prize of US$100 thousand. It also makes regional scientific awards of US$20 thousand each.

Additionally, the African Union Commission in collaboration with National Academy of Science will award the National Young Scientists Award of USD2,000 to outstanding young scientists.

This programme is implemented in three levels as below:

1. The Continental Award is open to all African scientists and is the highest level of the programme. It is implemented by the African Union Commission. The two successful winners of the award each receives the current prize of 100,000USD during the Heads of States and Government Summit in January 2017.

2. The Regional Award level is implemented in partnership with the Regional Economic Communities (RECs). It is aims at promoting the participation of African women in Science, Technology and innovation. The two winners per region receive a prize of 20,000USD each. For the applications, kindly contact the implementation RECs as outlined in the rules of procedure.

3. The National Young Scientists Award is implemented by Member States who have signed an Implementation Agreement with the AU Commission and its implementation partner TWAS. At the national level, the programme is implemented through National Academy of Science or National Research Councils. This award is intended for young scientists both men and women (Aged not more than forty (40) by 31 December of the year of organization of the Award). Two winners per country receive a prize of 2,000USD each for the 2017 edition.

Offered Since: 2008

Type: Research Award

Who is qualified to apply? The African Union Scientific Awards will be awarded to African scientists who have remarkable achievements applicable to the prevalent challenges in Africa.

What are the benefits? The value of the Continental Scientific Award shall be US$100,000 (One hundred thousand US Dollars for each scientific sector) conferred by the African Union Commission on two award winners.

Eligible Countries:

Central African Region: Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, Congo (DRC), Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Sao Tome & Principe.

Eastern Region: Comoros, Djibouti, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Madagascar, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Somalia, Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda.

Northern Region: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Mauritania, Tunisia, SADR.

Southern Region: Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Western Region: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Cote d’Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone and Togo.

To be taken at: Next Heads of States and Government Summit in January 2017.

How can I get more information?

If you need more Information about this scholarship, kindly visit the Scholarship Webpage;

Sponsors: African Union Commission

Facebook Comments

Leave a Reply

Sundiata Post Media Ltd.

Address: 3rd Floor Office Suite, Bayelsa State Guest House, Plot 1038, Shehu Shagari Way, Maitama, Abuja, Nigeria.
Tel: +234(0)92900705, +234(0)8173460599
Whatsapp: +234(0)8053069436
BBM PIN: 5619150D

Enugu Regional Office: SW 1 New Haven Shopping Mall, Enugu, Enugu State, Nigeria.
Tel: +234(0)7062582838

London Office: 18 Belgrave Avenue, Wd18 7UE, Watford, United Kingdom.
Tel: +447417554143
Dubai Office: PAU Management Suite, Level 23 - Boulevard Plaza Tower 2, Emaar Boulevard,
P. O. Box 124342, Dubai, UAE.
Tel: +971 4 4096849 | Fax: +971 4 409 6850
About Us

SundiataPost is published by Sundiata Post Media Limited, Sundiata Post is Nigeria’s most authoritative online newspaper and ranks among the top five online news platforms in Nigeria.

Guild of Corporate online publishers
A Glance at Our Advert Rate.

Inside Pages

Size In Pixels - Amount

120×180 - N27,967.50

300×100 - N24,695

Text Link - N11,275

More Details info

About Us | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advert Rate